top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureadventuregang168

Hollow Ground

It was the first day of year 11, Stephanie just had a huge fight with her dysfunctional family and was on the phone with her boyfriend Andrew "ugh it's so unfair! All I did was get a nose piercing and they ground me for a month!" She said to Andrew, "I know babe, it sucks but I'll see you at school later and we can talk about it more then, I have to get ready for AFL practice" he replied, "alright well I'll talk to you later than" Stephanie said a bit annoyed. "Ok love you see ya," Andrew said, "you to bye" Steph replied. After hanging up the phone her mum walked in and yelled at her some more, after she left Steph continued to get ready for school then left, she said goodbye to her nonna, the only one in the family who really seemed to get her and left.


On Stephanie's way to school, she couldn't stop thinking about how rude her mother had been to her. How could they react so badly? She thought to herself. When she arrived at school that morning, she got there 5 minutes before the bell rang. As she arrived at her locker, her best friend Charlotte came over to her. " There you are! " Charlotte said. " I can't get over your nose piercing, it's so cool! " She said while flatting out her uniform. " How did your parents react? " Ugh, mamma went full blast at me. She's so unreasonable". Then all of a sudden, the bell rang.


It was a Monday morning which meant Stephanie and Charlotte had math with Olivia and Abby, Olivia, or 'Liv' as she liked to be called always came to class with an apple for the teacher and made the rest of the class look bad, Abby wasn't as annoying, but she always annoyed Charlotte to absolute insanity. Steph and Charlotte couldn’t stand those two girls but thankfully they had their boyfriends with them in that class. Charlotte’s boyfriend's name was Liam, he was great at math and volleyball, unlike Andrew who was hopeless at maths and cheated on every math test he has ever taken.


This math lesson was no different to normal, Andrew being confused, Steph on her phone, Charlotte daydreaming, Liam paying attention, Olivia sucking up to the teacher and Abby talking to the people sitting next to her. When the bell finally rang, they all went to lunch, Steph and Andrew were the only ones who could drive without an experienced driver with them, so they took Charlotte and Liam to Maccas and hung out waiting to go to their next class. When the bell rang for their next class Steph and Charlotte decided to skip it and go to rugby practise with Andrew. They snuck past their class surprisingly not getting caught. The two girls went to the bathroom and ran into Olivia “well well well what do we have here” Olivia said, “skipping class again girls?” she continued. “ugh Olivia mind your own business don’t you have some teachers to suck up to or something?” replies Stephanie, “oh my gosh your so mean” Olivia said getting quite upset “I’m going to tell the teacher you’re here and you’ll both get detention!” She said. “Omg snitch!” Charlotte said pushing her into a stall. “Hey!” Liv yelled and pushed her back, Steph and Abby joined in and it turned into a crazy fight, other people in the bathroom saw them and chanted ‘fight’ until a passing by teacher caught them. All four of them got detention for a week, Olivia cried, she had never got in trouble before. Steph gave her a dirty look from across the room and Abby flipped the bird at her to defend Olivia.


On the last day of detention, Charlotte was getting very restless. " I'm going out of the room for a minute". The teacher said. " You guys will be alright, won't you? " They all nodded their heads, but as soon as the teacher left the room Charlotte blurted out, " you did this! " " You’re such a rat, Olivia! "

" I am not a rat! " Olivia responded quickly. " Is that a tear I see?" Stephanie said in a mocking tone. " Well, at least I actually try my best in everything!" Olivia said angrily. " Yeah, unlike you two good for nothing girls! " Abby said jumping to defend her friend. " What did you just call us? " Stephanie said, she looked like steam was about to come out of her hot ears. " Oh, come on! " " You going to fail school, it's that obvious!" Charlotte looked like she was about to pounce at Olivia. Then all 4 of the girls starting yelling at each other. Two minutes later the teacher walked in and the room fell dead silent. As soon as they got out of detention Stephanie and Charlotte's boyfriends were waiting for them. " You did it, no more detention! " Liam said as he put his arms around Charlotte's waist. Charlotte let out a little giggle. Once the bell had rung and School had finished for the day, they all went to a party. Since it was Friday night, it was the best night of the week!


Charlotte and Stephanie were getting ready for the party at Charlotte's house as she didn’t want to go home with her mother still being pissed off at her. “Hey Steph, what dress should I wear?” Charlotte asked holding up 2 dresses for Stephanie to look at, one was a low-cut blue knee-length dress and the other was a back-y baby pink mid-thigh length dress. “hmmm the blue one” Steph replied. “okay thanks” Charlotte replied. Once the girl finished their hair and makeup it was 8 pm. Andrew and Liam came to pick the girls up to go to the party. Once they got there, they all said hello to everyone and went to sit by the pool. “Hey Andrew, wanna get a drink later,” a random girl named Alisha said flirtatiously to Andrew, “um excuse me! I’m his girlfriend!” said Stephanie. “so?” Alisha replied, Stephanie took off her earrings and shoes getting ready to fight this girl that just started hitting on her boyfriend. “ok calm down babe, it’s just a misunderstanding, relax” Andrew said, “excuse me! So what you’re on her side!? You know what fine, but I’m leaving! I’ll find another ride home!” Stephanie replied yelling so everyone could hear, Andrew walked up to her trying to calm her down, but Steph pushed him away from her and walked off home.


Charlotte ran off to find her before she got herself kidnapped walking alone at night. The two girls walked back to Charlotte’s place which was only a block away from the party. Just before they got to the front gate two older guys in their car slowed down and started shouting catcalls to the two girls, they started running making sure to go into someone else’s yard not their own, so the guys didn’t know where they lived until they saw Liam and Andrew running up to the car and yelling at the guys inside. They drove off and the boys checked on Steph and Charlotte. Steph being the stubborn girl she was tried to keep ignoring Andrew but then she gave in and thanked him for helping with those guys. They walked back to Charlotte’s house and they all hung out there for a while. The boys went home, and the girls stayed and went to bed ready for what the weekend brought.


The next morning Stephanie and Charlotte woke up at 7:00 am. By now they had completely forgotten about the night before and its events. Today was a new day! The girls went downstairs where Charlotte's mum was cooking pancakes. " You sure are cooking up a storm in here Mum," Charlotte said as she hugged her mother. Mrs Barn laughed, " Good morning girls." " How did the party go last night? " Charlotte and Stephanie exchanged a look. " It was... a night! " Charlotte said, struggling to find the words. She knew if her mother found out about the two girls walking home alone on the streets, they would both be in so much trouble! " Well, eat up". Mrs barn replied. " I'm going out into town today; do you girls want a ride? " She said as she poured the hot water into her coffee. " Um, no thanks. " Stephanie knew that her mum would be in town today and the last thing she wanted to do was bump into her. When Mrs barn finished her morning coffee, she grabbed her keys kissed Charlotte on the head and picked up her purse. " Be good. " She said to Charlotte. " I will Mum. " Then her mother left the house. Charlotte gave Stephanie a hard stare. " What? " Stephanie said after ten long seconds of her best friend staring at her. " I wanted to get some new outfits,2," Charlotte said as she crossed her arms. " Well sorry, but I don't want to run into my mum. " Charlotte exhaled, " you can't avoid your Mum forever Steph." " No but I can try," Stephanie said firmly.


Charlotte finally convinced Stephanie to go to town with her and their boyfriends. “Omg, this is such a cute dress!” Charlotte said holding up a purple mini dress, “I mean yeah I guess, I’m more of a baggy jeans or shorts girl but I guess it's alright for a dress” Stephanie replied. “Well, I like it” Liam replied, “Hey I didn’t say I don’t like it, I just prefer casual clothes” Stephanie replied defensively. “whoa where did that come from,” Liam said, “ugh sorry ok, I’ve just been stressing out about school and now my stupid family,” Stephanie said looking like she was about to have a mental breakdown which was strange for her as she never cried in front of anyone. “Hey is ok, don’t worry about it, and you will do fine in school,” they all said trying to comfort her, “I’ve never gotten over a C- in any subject in my life, I’m going to fail and never get a job anywhere and my life will be over before it even starts, I won't get into a university or do anything important, ill probably just work at Woolworths for the rest of my life,” Stephanie said tears starting to come to her eyes, she quickly wiped them away. “So are you getting that dress or not,” she said to Charlotte, “yeah ill go pay for it now” Charlotte replied.

Anthony gestured to Stephanie to come over near him, she walked over to him, he wrapped his arms around her in a hug “Steph you are the most beautiful girl I have ever met, even if your not great at math or science your great at design and acting, you can be whatever you want to be, besides you don’t need to figure it out right now, you have plenty of time, don’t worry about it, I love you ok, remember that” he said, “that might be the nicest thing anyone has ever said to me” Stephanie replied smiling now, “thank you” she said, she kissed him and they walked back over to Charlotte and Liam.

Unfortunately, Stephanie’s mum was in town and saw them. “Stephanie! Come here right now or your grounded until your 50! Stephanie’s mum Lydia said, “oh dear lord I’m screwed,” Stephanie said walking to her mother. “What were you thinking! First, you get piercings without asking and then you don’t come home, and I found out you’re failing all your classes! You are the disappointment of this family!” Lydia said quietly so she didn’t cause a massive scene but with anger in her voice, so it didn’t sound pathetic. “Yep! That’s right mum, I am the child that did everything wrong and screwed up her life! That’s me, the child that was hated for not being good enough!” Stephanie replied sarcastically. “I don’t hate you, you’re my child, but you need to do better! Your father and I are doing everything we can to give you a better future but you’re going out and rebelling against us and failing your classes! You should be doing better,” Lydia said. “But that’s the thing, I’m trying but it's not my thing, math and science are not my areas of expertise, acting, writing and customer service, those are the things I can do, so please just stop telling me I’m not good enough because I can’t do trigonometry ok,” Stephanie said. Lydia and Steph talked for a while and worked out their issues. “So, I guess coming here wasn’t a mistake,” Charlotte said, “whatever, you were right,” Stephanie said laughing, they all walked around the shops laughing and having a good time.


Written by Indigo and Ash

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I am leaving this Blog...

Hello!It has been a while since anyone has posted so I thought I would post on here for anyone who is still following us. It is Indigo...

The Sunny Baudelaire Poem

This is Sunny Baudelaire She use to be a millionaire Sunny has 2 older siblings When her parents died she had a new beginning She is 2...

The Vision Poem

Vision is Jarvis Vision was made by Ultron he wasn't made for us he could of been an add on He loves Wanda and Wanda loves him he...

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page